Say Cheese

The latest addition to our household is a sparkly new camera and I’m still like a child on Christmas morning.  Except this is a camera for grown-ups.

Ever since my first film camera at 11 years old, I’ve rarely left home for more than a weekend without one.  My first point and shoot compact accompanied me on school trips and athletics competitions; my university days are documented in glossy piles of Tripleprint and Doubleprint, whilst grainy jpegs from my first digital 3MP captured my early professional years.

The Colosseum

A rather grainy Roman Colosseum

I’ve enjoyed a couple of upgrades, or replacements along the way, with my trusty Panasonic Lumix TZ5 recording such ‘grown up’ events as tropical holidays, weddings and baptisms, but now I’m a fully fledged member of the DSLR Long Lense Army.

Joy.

If I’m honest, what I really wanted to be able to do was take an ‘arty’ image – the subject crisp and in sharp focus, with the background blurred and obscure.  My ‘photography for beginners’ course had taught me how to do this, but with an automatic camera with a brain, quite literally of its own, it was virtually impossible to override all the pre-set options and achieve anything  near what my course buddies were able to with their flash new toys.

And this is my first image.

Bingo.  Mission accomplished.

It won’t win any prizes, but I’ve drooled over the definition of the leaves, the glossy rain droplets – and of course, the blurry bird table in the distance.  Even more exciting is that this was achieved with the camera (a Canon EOS 500d) virtually straight out of the box.

Tools.  Job.  As in, everything is so much easier when you’re armed with the right tools for the job.

This purchase was a long time coming, but initial results are promising and I’m looking forward to many hours of fun putting it through its paces and seeing what more it can do.

3 responses to “Say Cheese

  1. Pingback: A Bag With Compartments « Jo Blogs·

Let me know what you think

