New (camera) toy

Today has been a good day.

I’ve (briefly) seen my old work buddies (I’m going to miss them heaps). The physio has worked some magic on knee so I’m feeling Olympic (I’m pretty sure the Olympic Act allows me to say that…?) AND I’ve bought a new camera lens (new job pressie to myself!).

The lens has been on my wish list for months, so I’m not feeling too much of that guilty feeling I often get when I’ve spontaneously bought something completely unnecessary (the feeling I invariably get when I buy a pair of shoes which husband will later observe to be the same as every other pair in my wardrobe – what can I say, I know what I like!).   Instead, I’m feeling rather smug and pleased with my new toy.

Having bought a Canon 500D a few months back, I’ve been using the kit lenses with mixed success – see my Flickr pages, but I was struggling with indoor images.  I’d read a lot of good stuff about  the Canon 50mm f1.8 and today I took the plunge. It’s only been an hour or so since it’s been out of the box, but I love it already.

Nice bit of blur, lots of light and great definition. Tick, tick, tick.

Here’s my first shot. A collection of a few of my favourite things.

Image of perfume, nail polish and jewellery

This is me

Now all I need is plenty of practice. Excited. x

Let me know what you think

